PICTURES: Manchester United’s awards night

Manchester United’s awards night is usually one of celebration after winning silverware. This year however, it has been very different. United haven’t won any major trophies, and in fact it has been the clubs worst season in over 25 years.

The awards night kicked off with the Academy Player of the Year, which was scooped up by young James Wilson fresh after scoring two goals on his full Manchester United debut.


Next up was the Reserve Player of the Year award, and that went to Saidy Janko who arrived from Switzerland at the start of the season. He’s been very consistent down that right-hand side for the U21s all year long, and fully deserved the award.


After that was goal of the season, and it was closely contested between Wayne Rooney’s wonder goal at West Ham, and Patrice Evra’s thunderbolt away in Munich. In the end, Rooney narrowly edged the voting and took the award home.


Then came the two main awards; Players Player of the Season and Fans Player of the Season, both of which were won by David de Gea. The goalkeeper has been our most consistent player all year-long, and the 23-year old Spaniard was grateful in his acceptance of both prizes.



Finally, came a Lifetime achievement award. This special award was given to Ryan Giggs, after 25 years as a player for the club, the 40-year old has taken the managers job on an interim basis until the end of the season. He has yet to decide whether he’ll play on next year, or whether he’ll focus on his coaching.


Follow Old Trafford Faithful on Twitter for more Manchester United news.

About Jordan Street 13313 Articles
I'm a 25-year old aspiring writer and I created the blog as a platform to discuss all things Manchester United. Season Ticket holder block E332.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.