United Player of the Year Awards

As the season draws to a close on Sunday, United had their annual Player of the Year awards last night. Five different awards up are for grabs, with the most prestigious being the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award as voted for by the fans.

There are also awards for both the U21 and U18 teams, so the top players from all age groups get the recognition they duly deserve. This year the winner of these awards were the Belgian Adnan Januzaj and young Englishman Ben Pearson.

There is also an award for goal of the season, and no surprises as to who won that this year – Robin van Persie for his delightful volley against Aston Villa in that title clinching game just over a fortnight ago.

Michael Carrick was also amongst the awards as he clinched the Player’s Player of the Year award for his stellar performances in the heart of our midfield all season long.

The Sir Matt Busby Award was the final award of the night, with Michael Carrick and Robin van Persie both tipped to win it. After the final voting it was the latter who just came out on top and deservedly so as he did fire us to title #20.


About Jordan Street 9209 Articles
I'm a 25-year old aspiring writer and I created the blog as a platform to discuss all things Manchester United. Season Ticket holder block E332.