BREAKING: Januzaj, Shaw & Herrera given Manchester United squad numbers

Manchester United have announced their squad numbers for the upcoming season, and new signings Luke Shaw and Ander Herrera have been handed the #3 and #21 jerseys respectively. Perhaps the most interesting news however, is the fact that Adnan Januzaj has been handed Ryan Giggs’ old #11 jersey.

Big pressures come with that jersey, and i’m glad Adnan Januzaj has been given the task of following in his footsteps. The young Belgian burst onto the scene with two terrific goals on his full debut that led United to a come-from-behind victory, and ever since then he has been a revelation.

Whenever he is on the ball, people in the crowd expect something to happen, and he already carries a Ronaldo-like aura around the place. Being given the #11 by Louis van Gaal hints that the new manager has big plans for Januzaj, and we’ll be seeing a lot more of him this season.

Sadly Luke Shaw is out injured for a month, but being awarded the #3 jersey will be a great boost for him as it indicates that he is firmly a part of Van Gaal’s plans. We all know that Ander Herrera has a big future at this football club anyway, and he has chosen to keep his Bilbao #21.

Shirt numbers for the 2014/15 season:

1. De Gea; 2. Rafael; 3. Shaw; 4. Jones; 6. Evans; 8. Mata; 10. Rooney; 11. Januzaj; 12. Smalling; 13. Lindegaard; 14. Chicharito; 16. Carrick; 17. Nani; 18. Young; 19. Welbeck; 20. van Persie; 21. Herrera; 22. Powell; 23. Cleverley; 24. Fletcher; 25. Valencia; 26. Kagawa; 28. Anderson; 29. Zaha; 30. Varela; 31. Fellaini; 34. Lawrence; 35. Lingard; 36. Vermijl; 38. M Keane; 39. Thorpe; 40. Amos; 41. James; 42. Blackett; 45. Petrucci; 46. Rothwell; 48. W Keane; 49. Wilson; 50. Johnstone.

Follow Old Trafford Faithful on Twitter for more Manchester United news.

About Jordan Street 16056 Articles
Mancunian. Red through and through. Season Ticket holder block E332.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.