Confirmed: Four Manchester United players named in England’s World Cup squad

Manchester United’s Premier League season is almost over. The Red Devils have just one game to play, then attentions turn to Russia 2018.

Gareth Southgate has named his 23-man squad, and there have been four Manchester United players named in England’s World Cup squad.

Sky Sports News confirmed that Phil Jones, Ashley Young, Jesse Lingard and Marcus Rashford will be aboard the plane next month.

I’m absolutely delighted for Ashley Young. He’s been superb for Jose Mourinho this term, and it’s nice to see him get one final international hurrah.

As for Jesse Lingard and Marcus Rashford, they’ve both been immense for club and country. Their movement, energy and sheer pace will cause all sorts of problems for England’s World Cup opponents. This is a huge opportunity for them to shine on the global stage, and I fully expect them to do just that.

Now onto the absences. I’d like to start with Chris Smalling. He’s probably been United’s best defender this season, and him being left at home while Jones goes is an absolute travesty. You also have to mention Luke Shaw, but it was always likely that he wouldn’t be headed to Russia.

Check out the squad in full here:

About Jordan Street 19011 Articles
Mancunian. Red through and through. Season Ticket holder block E332.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.