Confirmed Starting XI: CSKA Moscow vs Manchester United

Manchester United take on the Russian side CSKA Moscow tonight, in the stadium where the club won their third Champions League crown back in 2008. Louis van Gaal will be hoping his side can secure a victory here to move them up the group table.

With the derby in mind, the manager has named a starting XI which contains a few changes – including the young starlet Jesse Lingard earning his first start of the season.

Juan Mata has been left out, as has Matteo Darmian. Starting in their places are Antonio Valencia and the aforementioned Lingard respectively.

I thought that we may see Bastian Schweinsteiger dropped to the bench for this one, but his name on the team sheet probably means we’ll be unlikely to see him start the derby come Sunday.

Starting XI:

De Gea, Valencia, Smalling, Jones, Rojo, Schweinsteiger, Schneiderlin, Lingard, Herrera, Martial, Rooney.

Subs: Romero, Blind, Darmian, Carrick, Mata, Fellaini, Memphis.

Follow Old Trafford Faithful on Twitter for more Manchester United news.

About Jordan Street 15676 Articles
I'm a 25-year old aspiring writer and I created the blog as a platform to discuss all things Manchester United. Season Ticket holder block E332.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.