Confirmed Starting XI: Manchester City vs Manchester United – Herrera starts

Well, we’re just an hour away from the big kick-off, and Manchester United head to the Etihad in the hope of getting one over on their fiercest of rivals. The game is set to be a close encounter, but I genuinely feel we have every chance of getting a positive result.

The team news is in, and we’ve gone as strong as physically possible. David de Gea starts in goal, with the back two of Daley Blind and Eric Bailly continuing. Antonio Valencia returns to the fold with Matteo Darmian playing as the left-back. Personally, I’m surprised that Luke Shaw didn’t get the nod.

Mourinho has seemingly opted to pack the midfield in Paul Pogba’s absence, with Ander Herrera, Marouane Fellaini and Michael Carrick all starting. I’m a bit concerned that those guys aren’t as mobile as the City three, but we’ll see how it goes when the game kicks off.

The front three is where we’ll look to thrive. Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Anthony Martial and Marcus Rashford all have bags of pace and they should absolutely terrorise the City back four for a solid 90 minutes; particularly on the counter attack.

Starting XI

De Gea, Valencia, Darmian, Bailly, Blind, Carrick, Herrera, Fellaini, Mkhitaryan, Martial, Rashford.

Subs: Romero, Rooney, Lingard, Young, Shaw, Fosu-Mensah, Tuanzebe.


About Jordan Street 15522 Articles
I'm a 25-year old aspiring writer and I created the blog as a platform to discuss all things Manchester United. Season Ticket holder block E332.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.