Confirmed Starting XI: Manchester United vs Manchester City – Lukaku starts

Manchester United Football Club takes on their fiercest of rivals in Houston, Texas this evening. Tonight sees the first meeting between the Red Devils and City not on the shores of the United Kingdom, and what an exciting game we’ll get to see.

The starting line-up has been confirmed by the club, and as expected, manager Jose Mourinho has named an extremely strong line-up for the clash.

David de Gea starts in goal and he’ll have a back four of Antonio Valencia, Victor Lindelof, Chris Smalling and Daley Blind in front of him.

To my surprise, the boss has gone with a two in midfield of Ander Herrera and Paul Pogba. Personally, I thought we’d have seen a three with us packing such a key area of the field – but it does mean we have an extra body in attack.

Then, the front four. It contains a bit of everything. Jesse Lingard is the hard worker, Henrikh Mkhitaryan brings that creative spark, Marcus Rashford has blistering pace and Romelu Lukaku is just an absolute beast.

No derby game is a friendly so I hope United go into this one with a desire to win. Come on REDS!

Confirmed Starting XI:

De Gea; Valencia, Lindelöf, Smalling, Blind; Herrera, Pogba; Rashford, Mkhitaryan, Lingard; Lukaku.

About Jordan Street 19174 Articles
Mancunian. Red through and through. Season Ticket holder block E332.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.