Confirmed Starting XI: Middlesbrough vs Manchester United – Fellaini & Lingard start

Manchester United finally have the chance to move out of sixth position in the Premier League, with Jose Mourinho’s men looking to get a crucial three points here. However, their task hasn’t been made easy at all with various injuries and suspensions decimating the squad.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Ander Herrera are both banned, whereas Paul Pogba and Daley Blind picked up injuries in midweek. On top of that, our players looking very tired against FC Rostov on Thursday evening.

With that in mind, this is a very different looking starting eleven. David de Gea does start, and it looks as though he’ll have a back five in front of him yet again.

Antonio Valencia will play, as will Ashley Young. The three centre-backs tasked with the job of dealing with Alvaro Negredo are Phil Jones, Chris Smalling and Eric Bailly.

Michael Carrick gets a rare outing alongside Marouane Fellaini. We literally have no other midfield options on the bench, which is a huge concern.

The front three looks, shall we say… different… Juan Mata and Jesse Lingard will play, just in-behind Marcus Rashford.

Starting XI

De Gea, Valencia, Smalling, Jones, Bailly, Young, Carrick, Fellaini, Mata, Lingard, Rashford.

Subs: Romero, Darmian, Fosu-Mensah, Rojo, Shaw, Mkhitaryan, Martial

Follow Old Trafford Faithful on Twitter for more Manchester United news.

About Jordan Street 19011 Articles
Mancunian. Red through and through. Season Ticket holder block E332.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.