Pre-Season Tour 2012 – Squad Announced

The United players returned to training this week, and today they will jet off to Durban, South Africa, for the start of our pre-season tour, which takes us not only to South Africa, but also on to China, Norway, Sweden and Germany.

Last night, the 22 man squad was announced:

Travelling Squad: Lindegaard, Amos, Johnstone, Ferdinand, Veseli, Vermijl, Wootton, Blackett, Valencia, Anderson, Carrick, Scholes, Powell, Kagawa, Bebe, Tunnicliffe, Lingard, Brady, Petrucci, Berbatov, Chicharito & Macheda

It will of course be a chance to see new signings Shinji Kagawa and Nick Powell in a United shirt for the first time. It is also a chance to see some of United’s younger players who have come through the Academy and Reserves.

Of course, big names are missing from the squad for a variety of reasons. Rooney, Nani, Young, Welbeck, Jones and Evra all participated in Euro 2012 and have been given an extended rest, and I believe they are due to return to training on the 26th July.

Others missing from the squad include Cleverley, Giggs, Rafael and de Gea, who take part in the London 2012 Olympics. Not forgetting injuries to players such as Fletcher, Evans, Smalling and Vidic, who has been pictured back in training with the team this week. It is yet to be announced if any of these players will join up with the tour at a later stage.

We will try to keep you up to date on all of our pre season games as well as how our players are getting on at the Olympics. Our first fixture is on 18th July against AmaZulu FC kicking off at 19:00 (BST).

Follow me on twitter: @benguest7

About Ben 128 Articles
27 year old football writer from South Yorkshire. United fan and Season Ticket holder in the Sir Alex Ferguson stand.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.